Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Stacking The Inbox

Film Friday: The Savvy Safety, Elijah Molden

If Elijah Molden can stay healthy, he's due for an expanded role on defense and should have a solid 2024 campaign.
All of our content is powered by you, our paid subscribers! No corporate overlords. No sponsorships (except Senior Bowl). Nothing. What we can and can’t do is up to you! Our goal is to bring you the most unique coverage of the sport we love, football, with a Tennessee Titans spin. So, please, share and subscribe! It’s only $5/month!

Share

I went on a podcast back in 2021. It doesn’t look like it’s around anymore or I’d link it here. No, I don’t remember the name of it either, so I can’t even tell you that. We’re off to a hot start here this morning. Anyway, I went on this NFL podcast back in 2021 to be a Titans “expert” for a show that was ambitiously previewing all 32 teams ahead of the 2021 season. The hosts asked me which draft pick I was most excited about, and my answer to that was Elijah Molden. Eyebrows raised. I remember the response being something along the lines of “but they drafted a corner before him! What about Caleb Farley?” I told ‘em to watch the Miami game and you’d see a guy that was still clearly growing into the cornerback position. But, Molden…he was already there. 

I liked the guy from the jump. At Washington, he was a feisty downhill player who was a willing tackler that just seemed to be at the right place at the right time. Guess what - when healthy, that has translated to his time in the NFL. That could be it - that could be the whole piece right there in a couple of sentences! But, we’ve talked about new defensive coordinator Dennard Wilson’s affinity for DAWGs (disciplined assholes with grit) all offseason, and for some reason, Molden’s name has slipped through the cracks. He absolutely fits that profile as a DAWG. Listen - I’m as guilty of it as anyone. With all of the Justin Simmons and Marcus Maye talk this offseason, I got caught up in the notion that the Titans were headhunting for a safety. 

A conversation with Zach on a recent episode of Football & Other F Words changed my mind about that.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Stacking The Inbox to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.